Skip to content
Production · 18 min read

Best Kiln for a Pottery Business: Size It by Firings per Month, Not Shelf Count

A production kiln is chosen by how many firings a month your sales need, the cone headroom above what you fire, the circuit you can actually get, and what the element warranty says. Eight electric kilns from L&L and Paragon compared from their makers' own pages, with the sizing math worked through.

A potter in a mustard apron lifts the hinged lid of a round stainless-steel electric kiln, in front of a green wall lined with shelves of hand-painted mugs and cups

It is mid-October. The holiday markets start in five weeks, your two wholesale shops have each asked for a reorder, and the kiln is already firing every other day. Every firing is full. One crawled glaze load, and a whole week of mugs goes back through the kiln, with nothing behind it.

So you start pricing a bigger kiln, and the first spec sheet you open says something that changes the plan: L&L lists an estimated lead time of 10 to 12 weeks on Easy-Fire kilns such as the e23T-3 (opens in new tab). Ten to twelve weeks from October 13 is December 22 to January 5, and L&L's lead-time policy (opens in new tab) starts that clock only once the order is confirmed, with "no exact delivery date" possible. It will not fire a single holiday mug.

That is the first lesson of buying a kiln for a pottery business. It is a capacity decision you make months ahead, not a shopping decision you make when you are already short. And capacity here is measured in firings per month, not in how many shelves fit inside.

The short version: the best kiln for a pottery business is the smallest one that gets your monthly sales through bisque and glaze with spare firings left over, and whose full load is roughly what you make between firings. Buy it rated about four cones above what you fire (a cone 10 kiln for cone 6 work), size the circuit before you order, and read the element warranty line by line, because on L&L kilns the vent you choose changes it. The purchase price works out to cents per pot. Running out of firings costs far more. For sizes by business type, skip to which kiln for which pottery business.

How to size a kiln by firings per month

Every pot you sell goes through the kiln twice: once for the bisque firing and once for the glaze firing. So the number that matters is not the kiln's volume. It is how many firings your sales need each month, and whether the kiln can give you those firings with room to spare.

The arithmetic fits on a sticky note:

  1. Count a real load, both kinds. Load the kiln on paper or on the shelves and count what fits in a bisque load and in a glaze load. For a kiln you do not own yet, draw its shelves at the interior diameter and height from the spec sheet and lay your ware out on paper. Paragon's own advice is to "plan the kiln load on paper" and draw your shelves, noting that "you may find that the ware fires most efficiently in a particular size kiln" (Paragon, How to Choose a Kiln (opens in new tab)).
  2. Firings per month = pieces sold in your busiest month ÷ pieces per bisque load, plus the same pieces ÷ pieces per glaze load. Round each one up. Use the busiest month, or next year's expected peak, not your average: the peak is when a kiln runs out.
  3. Firings available per month = days in the month ÷ the days one firing ties up the kiln, counting the cool-down until you can unload. Use your own turnaround, not a brochure's. Log a few weeks of firings in the free Pottery Studio Kiln Log, jotting the piece count and the time you unloaded in its "Result / problems" column. A bigger kiln with heavier loads may take longer to cool, so allow for that when you time a size you are considering.
  4. Leave headroom. Refires, test tiles and the occasional glaze disaster all come out of the gap between steps 2 and 3. If the gap is zero, the kiln is already too small. As a starting point, aim to need no more than about two-thirds of the firings available in your busiest month.

Then check from the other side: how long does it take you to make one full glaze load? Paragon puts it the same way: "Figure how long it will take you to make enough ware to fill a kiln of a given size." Compare that with how long your wholesale accounts wait for a reorder. If filling one load takes longer, you will either fire the kiln half-empty or keep a reorder waiting. With no wholesale accounts, compare it with the longest you are willing to wait between glaze firings instead.

L&L's own selector gives rough mug counts per size band: under 5 cubic feet holds "5-45 mugs," and 5 to 10 cubic feet holds "50-120 mugs" (L&L, Find the Perfect Electric Pottery Kiln (opens in new tab)). Those ranges are wide because a mug is not a platter. Your own count from step 1 always wins.

Working it through: Wren's studio

Wren is an illustrative potter, not a real customer, and her numbers are examples: use your own. She throws mostly mugs and small bowls and sells about 180 pieces in a busy month across two markets and two wholesale accounts, whose reorders she likes to ship within about ten days. She makes roughly 45 pieces a week. Her current kiln is a 2.5-cubic-foot model, and her own counts are 30 pieces in a bisque load and 20 in a glaze load. Counting the cool-down, one firing ties up that kiln for about two days, and for simplicity the table assumes the same for the bigger sizes.

Firings per month for 180 pieces, by kiln size (Wren's load counts)
Measure 2.5 cubic feet 6.7 cubic feet 10.2 cubic feet
Pieces per bisque load (her count) 30 80 120
Pieces per glaze load (her count) 20 55 85
Bisque firings needed 6 3 2
Glaze firings needed 9 4 3
Firings needed per month 15 7 5
Firings available (one every 2 days, 30-day month) 15 15 15
Weeks of making to fill one glaze load about 0.4 about 1.2 about 1.9

The small kiln is the whole problem in one row: 15 firings needed against 15 available. There is no room for a refire. The holiday bump, when she will want to sell 250 pieces, simply does not fit.

The 10.2-cubic-foot kiln fixes the capacity and creates a new problem. A full glaze load is almost two weeks of making, longer than her ten-day reorder promise. When a wholesale shop reorders 24 mugs, she either waits two weeks to fill the kiln or fires it mostly empty.

The 6.7-cubic-foot kiln lands where the two checks agree. Seven firings a month is under half of the 15 available, which leaves eight spare for refires, tests and the holiday surge. A glaze load is about eight or nine days of making, inside her ten-day reorder window. Even her 250-piece holiday month needs only 9 of 15 firings, inside the two-thirds line. If a bigger kiln stretches her turnaround to two and a half days (12 firings a month), a normal month still needs only 7 of 12, but the holiday month needs 9 of 12, past the two-thirds line, so time your own cool-down before counting on that surge. And at her two-day turnaround, if sales doubled to 360, she would need 12 of 15 firings, also past the two-thirds line, which is when a second kiln starts to earn its place.

Paragon's guide notes that "kiln owners will typically tell you to buy more capacity than you currently need, because you'll probably outgrow your kiln later." That is good advice up to the point where the fill time starts slowing your reorders. Check the fill-time row before going up a size.

Electric pottery kilns compared side by side

Every figure below comes from the manufacturer's own product page or buying guide, read on October 13, 2026. Skutt kilns are not in the table because Skutt's site could not be reached to verify current figures. Paragon's ceramic kilns were on a 10% sale that day, so both its regular and sale prices are shown. L&L's figures are MSRP, and dealers set the price you actually pay.

Electric pottery kilns compared from manufacturer pages (October 13, 2026)
Kiln Interior capacity Rated for (240 V, single phase) Price Price per cubic foot Circuit (240 V, single phase)
L&L e18S-3 Easy-Fire 2.5 cu ft Cone 10 $3,315 MSRP $1,326 23.9 A draw, 30 A fuse, 10-gauge wire
L&L e23T-3 Easy-Fire 6.7 cu ft Cone 10 $5,535 MSRP $826 48 A draw, 60 A fuse, 6-gauge wire
L&L e28T-3 Easy-Fire 10.2 cu ft Cone 8 (cone 5 on 208 V) $6,435 MSRP $631 60 A fuse
L&L eQ2827-3 Production 10.2 cu ft Cone 10 $7,450 MSRP $730 62.3 A draw, 80 A fuse, 4-gauge wire, direct-wired
Paragon CT71313 1.22 cu ft "Easily reaches cone 10" $2,600 regular ($2,340 sale) $2,131 Not on product page
Paragon CT81722 2.95 cu ft Not stated on product page $3,500 regular ($3,150 sale) $1,186 Not on product page
Paragon CT102329 7.10 cu ft Not stated on product page $5,500 regular ($4,950 sale) $775 Not on product page
Paragon CT122829 Viking 10.57 cu ft Built for "cone 10 loads" $7,000 regular ($6,300 sale) $662 "48-amp" per description; fuse and wire not on product page

Price per cubic foot uses MSRP or Paragon's regular price. Paragon's cone wording is quoted from its product descriptions, which do not state it by voltage. Sources: L&L's e18S-3 (opens in new tab), e23T-3 (opens in new tab), e28T-3 (opens in new tab) and eQ2827-3 (opens in new tab) pages and its kiln selector (opens in new tab); Paragon's CT71313 (opens in new tab), CT81722 (opens in new tab), CT102329 (opens in new tab) and CT122829 Viking (opens in new tab) pages.

Two patterns stand out. First, Paragon's guide is right that "the larger the kiln, the lower the cost per cubic foot": the price per cubic foot falls by a third or more between the 2.5-to-3-cubic-foot kilns and the 7-cubic-foot class in both lines. Second, the cheapest cubic foot in the table belongs to the L&L e28T-3, which is not rated for cone 10 on single-phase power at all. That is the next section.

Four things that decide a production kiln

1. Cone headroom above what you fire

Both makers say the same thing in different words. Paragon's buying guide (opens in new tab): "If you fire ceramics to cone 6, buy a cone 10 kiln." Its reason is mechanical. "As heating elements age, they draw less and less power," and a kiln rated hotter than you need still reaches your cone on worn elements, and during periods of low voltage too.

L&L makes the point with its own e28T-3. On its product page (opens in new tab) it says the kiln is "only rated for Cone 8 when the power supply is 240 volts, 1 phase," and only cone 5 on 208 volts single phase. It adds that "a cone rating should be several cones higher than the cone you plan to fire to," and that elements in a cone 8 kiln "will not last very long when firing to cone 5 or 6, especially with heavy loads." L&L suggests the more powerful eQ2827-3 (opens in new tab) if any of several conditions apply, starting with firing to cone 5 or 6 at least twice a month.

So the cheapest cubic foot in the table is a trap for a cone 6 business. A production schedule is exactly the "at least twice a month" case. It would buy you a big kiln that burns through elements.

2. The circuit you can actually get

This is the one that ends plans. L&L's e23T-3 draws 48 amps and sits on a 60-amp fuse with 6-gauge wire. The fuse is sized 25% above the draw. Its eQ2827-3 (opens in new tab) production kiln draws 62.3 amps on an 80-amp fuse with 4-gauge wire at 240 volts single phase. On the e28T-3 page, L&L is blunt: if the largest breaker you can have is 60 amps at 240 volts, "you should either get a smaller L&L … or count on changing the elements more often than normal."

Then there is the voltage you cannot see. Paragon's guide (opens in new tab) warns that "if your studio is in a business district, strip mall, or school, it is likely that your voltage is 208, not 240," that "208 volt and 240 volt circuits use the same wall outlets, so you can't visually tell them apart," and that a 240-volt kiln on a 208-volt circuit "will fire slowly and may never reach maximum temperature." Fixing it means new elements and possibly rewiring.

So if your studio is moving out of the garage into a rented unit, call the power company or an electrician to confirm the voltage before you order. Paragon also says to use copper wiring, not aluminum, and that only a licensed electrician should install the circuit.

Work in this order: find out your voltage and the biggest breaker your panel can take, then pick from the kilns that fit.

3. Venting, and what it does to the element warranty

A vent pulls fumes out of the kiln and the room. Paragon's CT102329 page (opens in new tab) says the Orton Vent Master also "reduces cooling time by up to 2 hours from 1000°F to room temperature," which matters if your bottleneck is turnaround.

On an L&L kiln, the vent also changes the warranty. L&L's three-year limited warranty (opens in new tab) prorates elements and thermocouples on two different schedules.

L&L prorated element and thermocouple replacement, by kiln age and vent
Kiln age (from shipment) With L&L Vent-Sure Without a Vent-Sure
0 to 6 months No charge No charge
6 to 12 months No charge 25% of list price
12 to 24 months 25% of list price 50% of list price
24 to 36 months 50% of list price Not listed (the no-vent schedule stops at 24 months)

L&L explains why: without its downdraft vent, "the elements will corrode much quicker than normal," and the vent must be an L&L Vent-Sure for the longer schedule to apply, even if you fit another maker's vent. Labor to replace elements is not covered either way.

4. The warranty, read by the line

Warranties on kilns are not one number. They differ by part, and the part that wears out first is the one to read.

  • L&L: three years against defects in workmanship on Easy-Fire, Quad-Pro and the other standard lines, plus the prorated element schedule above. Firebrick cracking is expressly not covered, and neither is case corrosion.
  • Paragon: its limited warranty page (opens in new tab) gives kilns "with a maximum temperature rating above 2300°F (except Dragons, Iguana and Vikings)" one year. Dragon, Super Dragon, Iguana and Viking kilns get two years, but the "standard elements on these models" get six months. Kilns used for reduction or salt firing are excluded.

Buying used? L&L's warranty (opens in new tab) "is not valid for second-hand or damaged kilns sold by unauthorized sellers," and its prorated element schedule "is limited to new kilns." A used kiln can still be a good buy, but price it as an uninsured one, and confirm its voltage against your circuit first.

What a bigger kiln adds to purchase cost per piece

The price gap between kiln sizes looks large. Spread over a few years of pots, it nearly vanishes.

Take Wren's two options from L&L, each with the furniture kit L&L lists on the kiln's own page (e18S-3 (opens in new tab), e23T-3 (opens in new tab)):

Purchase cost per piece over five years at 180 pieces a month (illustrative)
Cost line L&L e18S-3 (2.5 cu ft) L&L e23T-3 (6.7 cu ft)
Kiln, MSRP $3,315 $5,535
L&L furniture kit $380 $730
Total $3,695 $6,265
Pieces over five years (180 × 60 months) 10,800 10,800
Purchase cost per piece about $0.34 about $0.58

Five years is an assumption for the illustration, not a tax life. Kiln depreciation for tax purposes is its own question, covered in equipment depreciation for small makers.

The bigger kiln adds about 24 cents a pot: $2,570 more over five years, or about $514 a year. Set that against what one short holiday weekend would cost you, in your own numbers. The running costs per firing (electricity, element wear, kiln wash, posts) are a separate line, and the companion guide to kiln costs works through them. Note that a bigger kiln running full spreads each firing's electricity over more pots, while one fired half empty does the reverse.

This number is easy to lose: once the kiln is paid for, it tends to disappear into "overhead." In Ardent Seller for pottery studios, the kiln can be added as a piece of equipment with its purchase price and depreciation. Its hours log from each production run you record it on, and element changes are recorded as maintenance with their cost. The Equipment ROI & Payback report then shows what the kiln costs per hour of use and how much of its price its production has paid back so far.

Which kiln for which pottery business

Start from your own sticky-note math, not from these bands. As a rough guide, assuming cone 5 or 6 work on 240-volt single-phase power:

  • Under about 120 pieces a month, or mostly testing glazes: a small kiln around 2.5 to 3 cubic feet; toward the top of the range, check the two-thirds line with your own counts. A 1-cubic-foot kiln suits glaze testing but is too small to carry production at this pace; it still fires often, cools fast, and stays useful as a test kiln after you upgrade. Paragon's CT61109 page (opens in new tab) puts it simply: "You will never outgrow a small kiln," because it becomes the test kiln for the bigger one.
  • About 120 to 250 pieces a month, one maker: a mid-size cone 10 kiln around 6 to 7 cubic feet, such as the L&L e23T-3, or the Paragon CT102329 once you have confirmed its cone rating with Paragon or a dealer. Near the low end of the range a glaze load can take about two weeks to fill, so if you promise faster reorders, run the fill-time check before sizing up. By this size most of the drop in price per cubic foot has already happened, and the L&L still needs no more than a 60-amp circuit.
  • Two people making, or steady wholesale above that: a 10-cubic-foot class kiln that is rated cone 10 on your power, such as the L&L eQ2827-3, if you can get the 80-amp circuit. Otherwise, two mid-size kilns. They give you twice the firings and a backup when one is down for elements.
  • Your panel cannot give you the 60-amp circuit a mid-size kiln like the e23T-3 needs: stay with a small kiln on the circuit you have, such as the e18S-3 on its 30-amp fuse, and fire more often, or budget the electrical upgrade into the kiln's real price.

Before you order a kiln

  • Order for next season, not this one. At L&L's estimated 10 to 12 weeks, a kiln ordered in mid-October arrives after the holiday markets. For this season, ask dealers what they have in stock. Sizing for next year's peak is the point of doing the math now.
  • Do the reach test. Paragon's guide (opens in new tab) advises visiting a studio with the model you want and reaching down inside: "I know people who cannot touch the floor of their kiln, so they leave a shelf supported by posts in the bottom." A tall kiln you cannot load to the floor holds less than its cubic feet say.
  • Confirm voltage and phase in writing with your power company or electrician, then order the kiln built for it.
  • Price the whole install: stand, vent, furniture kit and the electrician, not only the kiln.

A kiln is the slowest machine in a pottery studio and the hardest to replace in a hurry. Pick it from your firings per month, and it will outlast several product lines.

If you want the kiln's purchase, its firing hours and every element change counted against the pots it makes, start a free Ardent Seller account and set the kiln up before the next one arrives.

Free resources

Two free tools for checking the numbers before you order:

  • Pottery Studio Kiln Log — Log each firing's date, cone and result for a month, noting the piece count and unload time in its Result / problems column, and you have the real turnaround and load counts the sizing math needs.
  • Product Pricing Calculator (Live) — Add the per-piece kiln share from the purchase math above to your best-selling mug and see whether its price still holds.

This article is provided for educational purposes only and does not constitute financial, electrical, safety or business advice. Prices, specifications and warranty terms are as published by each manufacturer on the date noted and change often; load counts and cost examples are illustrative and will vary with your ware, schedule and electricity. Have a licensed electrician confirm your voltage and install your kiln circuit, follow your kiln's manual and venting instructions, and consult a qualified accountant or small-business advisor before making purchasing decisions based on this content.

Frequently asked questions

Size it so one load holds about what you make between firings. Work out firings per month from your busiest month: pieces sold divided by pieces per bisque load, plus pieces sold divided by pieces per glaze load. As a rule of thumb, if that total uses more than about two-thirds of the firings your kiln can give you at its real turnaround, the kiln is too small. If filling one glaze load takes longer than your wholesale accounts wait for a reorder (or, with no wholesale accounts, longer than you are willing to wait between glaze firings), it is probably too big for your current pace. L&L's own guide puts kilns under 5 cubic feet at roughly 5 to 45 mugs and 5 to 10 cubic feet at roughly 50 to 120.

Yes, according to both manufacturers checked for this guide. Paragon's buying guide says "If you fire ceramics to cone 6, buy a cone 10 kiln," because elements draw less power as they age and a higher-rated kiln still reaches temperature on worn elements. L&L says a cone rating "should be several cones higher than the cone you plan to fire to."

It depends on the model and your voltage, so read the spec sheet before you buy. L&L lists its e23T-3 at 48 amps on a 60-amp fuse with 6-gauge wire at 240 volts single phase, its e18S-3 at 23.9 amps on a 30-amp fuse, and its eQ2827-3 production kiln on an 80-amp fuse. Paragon warns that studios in business districts, strip malls and schools often have 208 volts rather than 240, and that a 240-volt kiln on a 208-volt circuit may never reach full temperature. A licensed electrician should install the circuit.

On the makers' own sites on October 13, 2026, L&L listed its Easy-Fire e18S-3 (2.5 cubic feet) at $3,315 MSRP, the e23T-3 (6.7 cubic feet) at $5,535 and the eQ2827-3 production kiln (10.2 cubic feet) at $7,450. Paragon listed its CT81722 (2.95 cubic feet) at a regular price of $3,500, the CT102329 (7.10 cubic feet) at $5,500 and the CT122829 Viking (10.57 cubic feet) at $7,000, all shown on a 10% sale. Furniture kits, stands and vents are extra.

On L&L kilns it does. L&L's three-year limited warranty prorates elements and thermocouples. With its Vent-Sure downdraft vent, replacements are free for the first 12 months, 25% of list price from 12 to 24 months and 50% from 24 to 36. Without that vent, the free period is 6 months, then 25% to 12 months and 50% to 24 months. L&L says the vent must be its own Vent-Sure for the longer schedule to apply.

It can be, but price the warranty you are giving up. L&L's standard warranty states it "is not valid for second-hand or damaged kilns sold by unauthorized sellers," and its prorated element schedule is "limited to new kilns." A used kiln also needs its voltage confirmed against your circuit, since the wrong voltage means new elements and possibly rewiring.